A treasure-trove of Highgate history
The Archive houses a wealth of documents and pictures of all kinds relating to Highgate, its environs and its residents since the early seventeenth century. It also includes a unique collection of paintings of Highgate, dating from 1780 to the present day, many of which are displayed around the Institution.
Research can be undertaken on Thursdays by appointment.
Contact us by email email@example.com
The Archery Tower was built as a folly for Caenwood Towers (now known as Athlone House). Its remains, all covered in ivy, can be seen from the hidden garden on the Heath.
In March 2016, the Pond Square toilets are headline news again, with local residents campaigning to prevent another closure attempt by Camden Council.
This photograph of the building, from our archives, was taken in 1938 or 1939.